Choreographic Development Award

For UK based choreographers, working across all genres and contexts, with a minimum of two years professional experience.


Thanks to a generous legacy gift from David Andren and individual donations DanceEast launched the Choreographic Development Award scheme in 2015 with a major award of £5,000 and five awards of £1,000. 

The Choreographic Award can be used for research and development, or as a contribution towards making a dance work. The aim of the award is to nurture and develop choreographic talent and offers space, time and resources. A finished product is not necessary but there is an expectation that the funds will make a difference to the practice of the choreographer.

Following an open call for submissions in the spring of 2015, over 60 applications were received from UK based choreographers, working across all genres and contexts, all of whom considered worthy of support. The 2015 Choreographic Development Award winners were:

Award of £5,000 Joseph Toonga
Award of £1,000 Tim Casson
Award of £1,000 Sophie NüzeL
Award of £1,000 Wayne Parsons
Award of £1,000 Alesandra Seutin
Award of £1,000 Didy Veldman


Gary Avis, Humphrey Burton CBE, Lizzie Fargher, Peter Manning and Jeanette Siddall CBE


We use cookies to help improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you agree to our use of cookies.