Staff Profiles

Jane Arkley-Crouch

Customer Services Manager

I studied for a BA in Modern Drama with an emphasis on physical theatre & devised work, I moved back to my local area temporarily to work in hospitalities, met my husband, fell in love and didn’t move back to London. I’ve now found myself at DanceEast, blending my experience of the arts and hospitalities.

 

Contact Me
Jane.Arkley-Crouch@danceeast.co.uk

Bill Armitage

Head of Operations & Resources

I joined DanceEast in 2011, having worked in a number of multi-arts venues for over 20 years. Having a passion for contemporary dance I was drawn from Scotland to Ipswich by the opportunity to work in this incredible building. Being General Manager no two days are the same, given the variety of work we do, both in and outside the DanceHouse.

 

Contact Me
bill.armitage@danceeast.co.uk

Lucy Bayliss

Head of Creative Programmes

Dance continues to be a huge part of my life and I’m passionate about the joy it can bring to others, as audiences, creators and participants; as well as supporting the development of talent at all ages and stages.

 

Contact Me
lucy.bayliss@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295233

Susannah Burke

Creative Team Co-ordinator (Performance & Events)

I have worked at DanceEast for 15 years. My current role supports the professional artistic performance programme and I also project manage the Rural Retreats. When not at work, I juggle a husband, two children and a passion for Body Combat classes!

 

Contact Me
susannah.burke@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295239

Daniel Cooley

DanceEast Centre for Advanced Training Manager

I’m thrilled to be working for the DanceEast Centre for Advanced Training Programme, within the Creative Team. I am passionate about supporting the exceptional young talent from across the region, enhancing the enrichment of personal, educational, creative and social development.
Any CAT related queries please do get in touch with me.

Contact Me
daniel.cooley@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295246

Jonny Coulson

Technical Manager

I joined DanceEast in April 2016, after working with Dein Perry’s ‘Tap Dogs’ on tour. I came into the industry through work experience and went on to gain most of my experience working in professional theatre. I enjoy all aspects of performing arts as no two days are ever the same.

Contact Me
jonny.coulson@danceeast.co.uk

Lizzie Croucher

Creative Team Co-Ordinator

I’ve just relocated to Ipswich after spending six years in London completing my dance training (Undergraduate and Postgraduate) and a Learning & Participation Internship. Aside from being DanceEast’s Creative Team Coordinator I spend my time painting pottery, scouting out good coffee shops and taking class (most likely not all at once!)

Contact Me
lizzie.croucher@danceeast.co.uk
01473 235572

Kay Curtis

Front of House Assistant

I’ve always enjoyed dance, and after moving from London to Suffolk I volunteered to usher at DanceEast which was great as I saw the shows for free!  I became Front of House Assistant four years ago and still love the variety and buzz of live performances.

 

Contact Me
kay.curtis@danceeast.co.uk

Mary Davies

Core Tutor

Mary Davies began her career in Europe working alongside directors and choreographers in theatre based dance. As a freelance artist she teaches and choreographs within the community and continues to deliver on a variety of projects. Her role within DanceEast is as Artistic Director for both The Elderberries and Dance Unlimited. She also delivers the movement classes for the older dancer and regularly teaches contemporary technique.

Contact Me:

mary.davies@danceeast.co.uk

Helen Dawson

Producer (Performances & Events)

I’ve recently moved to Ipswich after spending the last few years working in Dance in Derby following my Arts Management degree at DeMontfort University. I’m thrilled to be part of the Creative Team at DanceEast. Outside of work I love exploring the great outdoors and couldn’t live without tea, biscuits and books!

Contact Me
helen.dawson@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295247

 

Joyce Edwards

Front of House Assistant

I joined DanceEast in 2000 and was on duty, in protective clothing, for the first class to be held in the new DanceHouse.  I enjoy meeting the many people who attend our classes.

 

Contact Me
joyce.edwards@danceeast.co.uk

Sarah Franklin

Core Tutor

I have been a Dance Artist for over 25 years teaching, choreographing and performing. I enjoy the challenge of creating new work, as I love to sow a seed, watch imaginations ignite, and share in the joy of dancing.​

 

Contact Me
sarah.franklin@danceeast.co.uk

Derek Gash

Caretaker

I was a Caretaker at Ipswich School for 23 years and a Taxi Driver in Ipswich for 5 years before joining DanceEast. When I’m not working I like spending time with my parents in Hadleigh, my wife and three cats.

Contact Me
derek.gash@danceeast.co.uk

Claire Glover

Front of House Assistant

I have loved the theatre and have danced from a young age, so thoroughly enjoy working at DanceEast. It’s great to meet so many different people whether they are here to participate in a class, watch a performance, or perform.

 

Contact Me
claire.glover@danceeast.co.uk

Alison Hartley

Creative Team Coordinator (Performance)

I grew up in Ipswich, danced with Scholars and Splinters, studied at Roehampton and worked for 5 years arts fundraising in London. I am excited to be working with DanceEast and my ambition is to save the world.

 

Contact Me
alison.hartley@danceeast.co.uk
01473 235239

Brendan Keaney

Artistic Director and Chief Executive

I find it hard to believe that I have worked in dance for over 35 years I am not sure where all that time has gone, however, working here at the Jerwood DanceHouse, one of the most impressive dance facilities in the UK, is as exciting as day one.

Lynnette King

Core Tutor

After graduating from Laban I have been working in the field of dance, both as a teacher and choreographer, for over twenty years, and have recently qualified as a Movement Therapist. I love cycling and walking my dog Basil in Suffolk which often inspires my work.

 

Contact Me
lynnette.king@danceeast.co.uk

Steph Licence

Finance & Admin Officer

Being born and raised in Ipswich, I have never strayed far away from home. I’ve worked in finance for 10 years where I’ve gained invaluable experience and an AAT qualification. In my spare time I enjoy yoga and will never pass up the opportunity for a little boogie (although nowhere near a professional standard!)

Contact Me
steph.licence@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295239

Chrissie Moore

Communications and Development Assistant

I joined DanceEast in May 2016 after graduating from the University of Lincoln with a (BA) Hons Degree in Dance. Dance has always and continues to be a huge passion in my life and I am so excited to be working here at DanceEast. In my spare time, I play county darts, netball and enjoy a good yoga class! I also research into the relationship between Dance and Education within the National Curriculum.

Contact Me
Chrissie.Moore@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295236

Caroline Mummery

Core Tutor

I am thrilled and honoured to have been a part of the DanceEast journey. I teach, choreograph and nurture young talent, and am often amazed at the creative intensity of working with people, of all ages, who love to dance.

 

Contact Me
caroline.mummery@danceeast.co.uk

Karen Pratt

Front of House Assistant

I graduated from my Dance degree at Roehampton in 2012 and completed my PGCE at UCS in 2014, and have since worked in various dance settings; teaching, creating, performing and building my love and knowledge for dance more and more. I’m thrilled to be a part of the DanceEast team and share my enthusiasm for the arts with more people!

 

Contact Me
karen.pratt@danceeast.co.uk

Maggie Powell

Venue Hire Co-Ordinator

I am lucky enough to introduce new visitors to our amazing spaces every day. Although I have a degree in contemporary dance, most of my career has been spent in sales and recruitment so joining the team at the DanceHouse has really felt like coming home!

 

Contact Me
maggie.powell@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295240

Emma Scholey

Assistant Customer Service Manager

I’m originally from Leicestershire and began dancing at the age of 2. I’ve studied dance since then and have just completed my BA (Hons) in Dance at University Campus Suffolk specialising in Contemporary. This role allows me to combine my dance knowledge and my love of customer care.

 

Contact Me
emma.scholey@danceeast.co.uk

Tanya Smith

Front of House Assistant

I have worked for DanceEast for seven years. It’s a very interesting role and there is always something different happening so you get lots of variety, along with meeting all kinds of people which I enjoy

 

Contact Me
tanya.smith@danceeast.co.uk

Rachel Tarkenter

Head of Communications and Development

I’ve enjoyed persuading people to see and support the arts for 15 years; in Brighton, London, Sheffield, Colchester and York. Having spent family holidays in East Anglia, I love working (and dancing!) on the Ipswich Waterfront with a talented creative team.

 

Contact Me
rachel.tarkenter@danceeast.co.uk
01473 295242

Adrian Theobald

Caretaker

I was born, and have lived, in Ipswich all my life. I enjoy dancing salsa and ballroom socially, going on dance holidays, and have also performed in the past. Before joining DanceEast, my working life was spent in IT, more recently in software consultancy, support, training and project management.

Contact Me
adrian.theobald@danceeast.co.uk

Alice Wade

Development Officer

I joined DanceEast in December 2014, returning to East Anglia where I grew up, having spent six years living and working in Brighton. I studied Performing Arts and completed a MA in Arts Management, embarking on a career in arts admin, finance and grant management. I thoroughly enjoy watching dance and participating, although I have two left feet, I love to give it a go!

 

Contact Me
alice.wade@danceeast.co.uk
01473 235574

Jessica Wilson

Marketing and Communications Officer

Dance has been my passion for as long as I can remember. After graduating from the Dance Performance course at Middlesex University in 2012, working in arts marketing was an instant reality and the best of both worlds. Helping people discover dance and seeing it become their passion too is what is most rewarding.

Contact Me
jessica.wilson@danceeast.co.uk
01473 235574

Helen Wright

Finance and Front of House Assistant

Having worked for a corporate company for over 25 years , I joined DanceEast in 2007 as a front of house assistant. I now also work part time as the finance assistant which gives a lovely contrast to meeting people and number crunching.

 

Contact Me
Helen.wright@danceeast.co.uk 
01473 295230

Hello from all of us!

We hope you enjoy reading a bit about who we are, what we do and what we like doing when we’re not busy working at DanceEast.

If you have any queries please feel free to get in touch, we’d love to hear from you.